## Draft: Pending Approval by the PAASD Membership



Professional Appraisers Association of SD PAASD Annual Meeting Thursday, January 18, 2018 Chamberlain, SD – Arrowwood at Cedar Shore

The meeting was called to order by President Sandy Gresh at 12:39PM, CST, at the Arrowwood at Cedar Shore.

Minutes of the January 27, 2017, Annual Meeting were made available to each member present. Motion: (Adam Lalim) To approve the minutes as written. Seconded by Amy Frink. Motion passed.

## **STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:**

## Finance Committee

Bill Bear gave the Treasurer's report. The 2017 Financial Reports and 2018 approved budget were presented to the membership.

Motion: (Craig Steinley) To acknowledge receipt of the 2017 Financial Reports and the 2018 approved budget. Seconded by Adam Lalim.

Motion passed.

# **Membership Committee**

The number of members for 2017 was 144, and so far for 2018, 91 members have paid dues.

# **Education Committee**

Brian Schmidt noted that in 2017 PAASD offered:

<u>Appraising Rural Residential Properties</u> jointly with the SD Chapter of ASFMRA\_with a total of 109 registrations.

**Drone Technology** jointly with the SD Chapter of ASFMRA, with a total of 39 registrations.

*Effective Appraisal Writing* with 65 attendees.

**Builder Costs in Residential Construction** jointly with Black Hills Home Builder Association with 77 registrations.

The 2018 Fall Conference will be held in October in Deadwood, SD. The offering has not yet been determined.

The 2019 Annual meeting will be at the Arrowwood at Cedar Shore and the dates are January 22, 23, and 24.

Page 2 Annual Meeting Thursday, January 18, 2018

# The Training Course For Supervisory Appraisers and State-Registered Appraisers was offered

three times in 2017 with a total of 25 attendees.

# **Public Relations Committee**

Amy thanked the participants and helpers with the Casino Night Scholarship Fund Raiser.

# SPECIAL COMMITTEE REPORTS:

# Legislative Committee

Craig Steinley thanked the SD Chapter of the ASFMRA for their participation in Legislative endeavors involving appraisers. He also recognized dual members in the Society and PAASD.

Craig noted that all seems to be quiet on the SD legislative front. There were no initiatives by the Department or by SD appraisers. Barry Wilfahrt is the 2018 lobbyist who represents PAASD and the SD Chapter of ASFMRA in the South Dakota Legislature. Barry was able to attend both PAASD's Board of Directors meeting and SD Chapter of ASFMRA's membership meeting, but was unable to stay for the Thursday Annual Meeting.

# <u>Website</u>

Craig Steinley encouraged all to complete their profiles on the PAASD website.

# **Scholarship**

At their January 16, 2018, Board of Directors Meeting, the PAASD Board awarded three **PAASD Professional Development Scholarships** for 2017. The recipients are: Garrett Petrik – Spearfish, Steven Washachek – Rapid City, and Melissa Roe, Hayti.

In addition to the **PAASD Professional Development Scholarships**, four DENNY WAGNER MEMORIAL continuing education scholarships were given away. Names of PAASD members who attend a PAASD-sponsored seminar at the 2018 Annual Meeting were eligible to have their names in the drawing. The four winners were: Sandy Gresh – Britton, Debbie Ellerton – Rapid City, Lori Bales-Pechholt – Huron, and Steve Kubik – Hamill.

# OLD BUSINESS:

The Model Document for "Payment for Services" between Supervisors and Trainees will be handled after the governance structure of PAASD is established in the revised bylaws.

# **NEW BUSINESS:**

# **ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND DIRECTORS**

Bill Bear, as President-Elect, automatically moves into the President's position. Sandy Gresh, as current President, automatically moves into the Past-President position. The

Secretary/Treasurer, Mary Houk, has agreed to submit her name in nomination for President-Elect and Adam Lalim has agreed to submit his name in nomination for Secretary/Treasurer. Page 3 Annual Meeting Friday, January 27, 2017

The Board offers the following as their suggested slate of candidates for the election:

President-ElectMary Houk, Rapid City	
Secretary/TreasurerAdam Lalim, Watertown	
Director (three-year term)	Prentice Weaver, Sioux Falls
Director (three-year term)	Peggy Kalt, Aberdeen
Director (three-year term)	Marvin Siebrecht, Aberdeen
Director (three-year term)	Roger Willcut, Yankton

President Sandy explained that the bylaws allow 8 to 12 Directors and with the suggested slate, there will be eleven Directors on the PAASD Board.

Motion: (Amy Frink) To approve the slate of candidates as presented. Seconded by Sandy Runde.

## Motion passed unanimously.

Sandy Gresh then presented the President's gavel to Bill Bear to preside over the coming 2018-2019 term.

Bill presented Sandy Gresh with the 2017-2018 President's Gavel Plaque and thanked her for her service to PAASD.

Motion: (Adam Lalim) To adjourn the meeting. Seconded by Craig Steinley. Motion passed. Meeting adjourned at 1:00pm Central Time. President Bill Bear adjourned the meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

Bev Luke PAASD Executive Secretary